Monday Nice

Monday Nice

Monday Nice

Origin

After spending a good weekend, many office workers feel lazy, or even a torture, when going back to work on Mondays, it’s so-called as “Monday Syndrome” or “Monday Blues”.

Why do people have Monday Blues? How to make a change?

Why do people have the Monday Blues?

After 5 busy working days, office workers usually spend their weekend, both Saturday and Sunday, on night outs. It’s easy to get overtired. If they need to manage tidying up and watch TV dramas afterward on Sundays, unintentionally, they go to bed at a delayed time around 1 or 2 am, so it’s not enough for them to take a good rest. On Mondays, office workers are usually fully occupied by working schedules, their circadian rhythms cannot adjust to the tempo of work, resulting in slower responses and making mistakes while working.

Besides the impact of circadian rhythm, the Monday Blues sometimes reflects the accumulated working pressure over a long period of time. Suffering from the long-term pressure from the workplace makes the Monday Blues becomes more serious and make them stressful continuously on the following working days. It’s said, ” Those who have the Monday Blue Syndrome may always be gloomy in the office.” If the accumulation of stressful events has not been dealt with for a long time, the impact may be extended to other aspects and cause depression that completely makes the quality of life get worse.

How to change such Blues?

Making a change from the first second at work!

Michael Steger, a Psychologist of the University of Louisville (U of L), conducted a study on 65 college students; he had them write down how much time they spend on pleasures as well as the participation of meaningful activities, such as helping people, and etc. Lastly, he made the students determine whether the day is a happy day or not. The result shows that students who helped people were thinking they live their life with better significance, which means “Philanthropy is the basis for happiness.”

Consequently, in 2007, PSA Foundation started the “Monday Nice” campaign that is held every first Monday in October. On the day, Every staffs puts on the “Monday Nice” POLO shirt together with the 4 action slogans, “Clothing, Beating, Doing, and Passing Down“, making everyone energetic and becoming a helpful person to get rid of the “Monday Blues” on the way towards “Monday Nice”!

“Clothing, high-fiving, Doing, and Passing Down”

1. Clothing “Monday Nice”
-Every Monday in October, the staff puts the Monday Nice POLO shirt.

2. High Fiving “Monday Nice”
-In the morning, give high fives to 6 colleagues saying “Monday Nice” as the way to greet each other.

3. Doing “Monday Nice”
– Small creativity leads to big influence: Do concrete action for good things on Mondays.
– As a response to the PSA’s Charity Month, we combine with each company’s Tzi-Huei Club to carry out community care.

4. Passing Down “Monday Nice”
-Merits spread far and wide: Email the facts of good deeds to the foundation, and through our official website, blog, and Facebook Fan Page, more people will be inspired to show kindness together.

Monday Nice

Monday Nice

Monday Nice

緣起

很多上班族過完愉快的週末後,星期一上班時無精打采,甚至感覺痛苦,這種感覺被稱為「週一症候群」。

為什麼會有Monday Blue呢?要如何改變?

為什麼會有MONDAY BLUE呢?

上班族在忙碌了五個工作天之後,週末二日往往是連著兩個晚上出外狂歡。很容易過度疲憊,星期天若又忙著打掃整理、再看個影集,不知不覺間就延到凌晨一、兩點才上床休息。身體休息的還不夠,星期一即將面對上班後的滿檔行程,生理時差調整不來,當然反應遲鈍、錯誤百出。

除了生理時差衝擊,星期一症候群有時也反映了長期累積的工作壓力。長期面對職場壓力使得星期一症候群更為嚴重,甚至會擴散到其他的工作天裡:「有Monday Blue的人,可能每天在辦公室裡都是很blue的。」若是長此以往任由壓力累積不加以處理,可能會擴展到其他層面,甚至變成憂鬱症,徹底惡化生活品質。

如何改變這樣的Blue呢?

一切就從改變工作的第一秒開始!

美國路易斯維爾大學的心理學家麥克‧史德格(Michael Steger)研究65位大學生,讓他們寫下每天花了多少時間自己享樂,以及參與了多少比較有意義的活動如幫助別人等。然後讓學生們總結一天是否快樂,結果顯示,多幫助別人的學生認為活得有意義,也就是「助人為快樂之本」。

因此PSA基金會自2007年起,發起「Monday Nice」運動,在十月份的每個週一,所有同仁都穿上「Monday Nice」POLO杉,以「衣、擊、做、傳」四個行動口訣,讓同仁們充滿朝氣,自助助人,擺脫「Monday Blue」,迎向「Monday Nice」!

「衣、擊、做、傳」

1.衣「Monday Nice」

–十月份每週一穿上Monday Nice Polo衫

2.擊「Monday Nice」

–上班一大早和6位同仁以手擊掌方式,並以一句「Monday Nice」作為相互打招呼的方式

3.做「Monday Nice」

–小小創意大大影響力:在星期一執行做好事的具體行動。

–響應PSA華科事業群公益月行動,結合各公司慈輝社進行社區關懷。

4.傳「Monday Nice」

–好事傳千里:將行善事蹟mail至基金會,透過官方網站、部落格與Facebook粉絲團,讓更多人一起來響應。