PRESSROOM

PRESSROOM

2016 IECD Press Conference

2016 IECD Press Release

2016 IECD Press Conference
2016/03/03

Thinking that you have normal hearing? Hearing crisis of 1 billion people.

Aging society: caring for the elders and “hearing” happiness

Hearing Impairment Scholarship: NT$10,000 for each recipient. Students of high school and college are encouraged to apply

Chou Szu Chi in Hearing Love invites the hearing-impaired people to participate in Deaflympics

 

 

WHO published a report in 2015, which stated that more than 1 billion people are in a hearing crisis due to poor daily habits. According to the statistics of Ministry of Health and Welfare, hearing-impaired population in Taiwan was over 120,000 by the end of 2014, which was ten times more than in 1992. In response to the 17th World Hearing Day, PSA Charitable Foundation, which has been dedicated to charity since 2000, has continued to advocate for the hearing health to the general public and invited Chen Kuang Chao, Director of Cochlear Implant Center of Far Eastern Memorial Hospital, to share the special clinical cases of hearing impairment and teach people the methods of hearing protection. The Foundation also set up the new Hearing Impairment Scholarship for the high school and college students this year to award NT$10,000 for each recipient. The application is opened this July. Chou Szu Chi, the long-term hearing advocacy ambassador and professional baseball player, is invited to participate in the microfilm, Hearing Love. He invited people with hearing impairment to exercise with him to increase the confidence and release the stress, or even participate in Deaflympics to honor the country.

Secretary-general of PSA Charitable Foundation, Lin Long Sen believed we could tell the undeniable importance of hearing in life from how hearing impairment is valued among the international communities. He hopes to awaken people’s awareness of hearing health. The chairman of the board of the Foundation, Chen Chao Ju said that she empathized with the persons with hearing impairment and their families’ difficulties of taking care of them. Since the Foundation was established, it has always dedicated in the hearing care related issues and entered campuses and community locations to serve the children and elders. The Foundation also developed an APP, Noise Catcher, to promote awareness of ambient noise. 1,200 hearing devices were donated to the remote areas in China to benefit nearly a thousand children. Recently, the Foundation is dedicating in supporting outstanding hearing-impaired students in Taiwan and has set up a NT$10,000 Hearing Impairment Scholarship for high school and college students. The baseball star player, Chou Szu Chi has participated in the microfilm, Hearing Love, which contains three major themes: Listening, care for the hearing-impaired children; mother helps children with congenital hearing loss to learn to listen, speak, and explore the world. Seeing, Chou Szu Chi played the role of a young man who is concerned of the elders and disseminates the concepts of treating the elders with patience and speaking to them slowly and clearly. Loving, achieve the goal of “friendly treatment and communication without hindrance” for the hearing-impaired or degenerated elders through the interactions with parents, children, elders, and young people.

For the daily hearing protection, Chen Kuang Chao, Director of Cochlear Implant Center of Far Eastern Memorial Hospital, suggests to avoid long-term exposure to the high-noise environment. For example, do not stay in an environment with noise level over 91 dB more than two hours and if the volume was up to 100 dB, leave within 15 minutes. It is proved that the human hearing cannot tolerate the volume over 112 dB for more than one minute. Chen Kuang Chao also reminded the people who like to linger in the nightclubs to stay farther away from the speakers and leave the establishment immediately if the ears started to hurt. The sudden loud noises such as firecracker and target shooting might result in hearing loss with one single sound and the damage could overpass that of industrial noises. A single exposure to this kind of shocking noise could lead to a lifetime regret with irreversible hearing damage. Chen states that there is not yet a known cure or preventive measure for the most unexpected sudden sensorineural hearing loss. The causes include filterable virus and autoimmune disease. The severe cases of sudden sensorineural hearing loss can be treated with cochlear implant and it usually takes the patients six months to adapt to the implant. However, there was a special case of a 60-year-old woman who had been nearly deaf before the operation. She was back to normal communication with people right after the cochlear implanting except the senses of music and melody. The medical technology is still at the research stage and the medical team needs to develop and grow along with the patients. Chen revealed that many young people who required emergency care were having sudden sensorineural hearing loss after drinking and playing at the nightclubs and therefore he warned the young people not to overdo it and try not to stay up all night on the daily basis.

Hearing Impairment Scholarship of PSA Charitable Foundation accepts application from July 1st to 31st. Students, parents, and teachers can download the application form at http://www.psa.org.tw/scholarship02.htm or contact Director Wang at 02-8911-1311 for more information.

新聞發佈室

PRESSROOM

2016 愛耳日記者會

2016耳愛日記者會新聞稿

2016國際愛耳日記者會
日期:2016年3月3日

自覺聽力正常?10億人重聽危機!

高齢社會 關懷長輩「聽見」幸福

聽障獎學金 每人1萬元 高中、大專生可申請

周思齊「聽見愛」 力邀聽障朋友參加奧運

 

WHO在2015年發表研究報告,全球因生活習慣不良導致聽力危機的人口高達10億;衛生福利部統計最新資料顯示,截至2014年止,全台聽障人口破12萬,比1992年成長10倍。因應3月3日全球第17年愛耳日來臨,自2000年投入公益的華科事業群慈善基金會,持續宣導社會大眾重視聽力健康,並邀請亞東醫院人工耳蝸中心主任陳光超分享聽障特殊案例,及指導大家生活中保護聽力的方法。華科亦在今年新設高中、大專聽障獎學金,學子可獲得1萬元補助,學子可於7月開始申請。長年擔任聽力宣導大使的職棒球星周思齊,除協助拍攝微電影「聽見愛」,更廣邀聽障朋友跟他一起運動,藉此增加自信心及舒壓,甚至參加奧林匹克聽障奧運為國爭光。

 

華科事業群慈善基金會秘書長林龍森表示,由聽障問題在國際上受重視的程度,可看出聽覺在生活中不可忽略的重要性,希望喚起更多人對聽力健康的重視。華科基金會董事長陳昭如感同身受聽障者的不便,及家屬照料的困難,因而基金會自成立以來,積極投入聽覺關懷相關議題,針對校園、社區據點,照顧孩童與長輩聽力健康,並進一步發展噪音捕手APP,宣導社會大眾隨時關注身旁噪音。在大陸偏遠地區,捐贈近1200個助聽器,受益兒童近千人,近期又極力推廣聽障人才培育,成立高中、大專聽障獎學金,每個學子可獲得1萬元獎助。職棒球星周思齊參與拍攝的微電影「聽見愛」,內容涵蓋三大主題,「聽」-聽障兒童關懷,媽媽幫助先天性聽障寶寶學習聆聽、言語,並認識世界;「見」-周思齊扮演關懷長輩的年輕人,宣導大家對長輩講話要有耐心,說話慢條思理讓他們聽懂;「愛」-透過家長、兒童、長輩及年輕人之間的互動,對聽力障礙與聽力退化的長輩達到「友善對待、溝通無障礙」的目的。

 

關於平日的聽力保養,亞東醫院人工耳蝸中心主任陳光超建議,不要長時間曝露在噪音環境中,例如身在音量91分貝的環境不得超過2小時,音量達100分貝,不可超過15分鐘,如高達112分貝,聽力承受極限不到1分鐘。陳光超也提醒喜愛上夜店的民眾,勿太靠近音箱,一旦發現耳朵疼痛,便要立刻遠離,另外鞭炮、打靶的巨大聲響,只要一聲就會讓聽力受傷,傷害程度更甚工業噪音,如因這種「衝擊噪音」影響聽力,只要一次,就會造成終身損害,目前並無方法治療。對於令人最措手不及的突發性耳聾,陳光超表示醫學界尚未研究出事先預防的方法,引發原因多為濾過性病毒、耳中風、自體免疫系統失調,嚴重的突發性耳聾會以安裝人工電子耳的方式治療,病患通常需要花半年時間適應,但近期有一位60歲女性,就醫時幾乎全聾,安裝電子耳後立刻能與人正常溝通,但對音樂、旋律的感知仍在恢復期,這部份的醫療技術尚處在研究階段,醫療團隊需與病人一起成長。陳光超亦透露,不少緊急就醫的年輕人,都是在夜店喝酒、玩樂後產生突發性耳聾,因而建議通宵玩樂時應適可而止,平日也不要熬夜。

 

關於華科事業群慈善基金會成立的聽障獎學金,於7月1日至31日受理申請,學子、學生家長或教師可於http://www.psa.org.tw/scholarship02.htm下載申請表,或電洽02-8911-1311王主任。